There is a common misconception regarding online research -- that everything is
available for free on the Internet. While there are many excellent sources available for
free on the Internet, there are some important exceptions. Reputable newspapers, journals,
and reference sources such as The New York Times, The Harvard Business Review,
and Contemporary Authors are published by for-profit organizations. They have a
vested interest in protecting their intellectual properties. What this means for the
average researcher is that searching the Internet for journal articles or reference
sources is usually fruitless. To fill this gap, companies purchase the rights to
electronically reproduce these sources and then sell access to collections of these
digital reproductions (databases) to libraries and other organizations. Many of these
databases are indeed on the Internet but access is restricted to those who pay.
The Air Force and ACC have purchased a variety of these databases for the library and
its patrons. The end result is that the library is able to provide access to a large
amount of online reference material, including fulltext articles from more than 3000
journals and newspapers. These are acceptable for use in research papers.
Many of these databases are accessible from outside the
library. A library staff member can provide you with a list of usernames and passwords
that will allow you to access these resources from any non-library computer. Please keep
this information secure.
The library regularly offers class instruction on the use of these databases. For
individual instruction, contact the Reference
Librarian (572-5075) to arrange an appointment.
- ACC/AFSOC Research
Library The ACC/AFSOC Research Library is an online resource for
mission-essential information. The Research Library provides access to publications and
research containing information critical to the success of the Air Force mission. Search
the library's collection of publications and articles anytime. Soon you can look forward
to digests of mission-specific news of innovations and developments in dozens of
functional areas. For full access to this site, you will need your
library "User Name" and "PIN". A User Name and PIN may be
obtained at the library's circulation desk. PINs can not be given over the phone.
- ACC QoLNet eBook Collection
Provides access to a variety of ebooks, fulltext electronic versions of print books. These
can be browsed or checked out for three days. After three days, they are returned
automatically. Your username/password can be used to access this resource from any
computer with internet access at www.netlibrary.com You must first
set-up an account at the base library.
- Air University Library The
Air University Library (AUL), founded in 1946, is the premier library in the Department of
Defense (DOD). It houses well-balanced collections especially strong in the fields of war
fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international
relations, education, leadership, and management. The library holds more than 2.6 million
items: 530,000 military documents; over 429,000 monographs and bound periodical volumes;
615,000 maps and charts; 150,000 current regulations/manuals; and over 909,000 microforms.
AUL also operates a branch library at the US Air Force Senior NCO Academy located at
Maxwell AFB, Gunter Annex, Alabama, which provides tailored information collections and
services for senior NCO PME.
- Aviation Week Intelligence Network: AWIN
is the integrated online platform that delivers information and data for
aviation/aerospace and defense professionals worldwide. AWIN covers the key sectors of
commercial aviation, military, defense, space, business aviation and MRO. Please see a member of the library staff for access
- Barron's: A financial weekly.
Barron's provides readers with an accurate understanding of what happened on Wall
Street and Main Street in the markets last week, coupled with insights into what's likely
to happen in the week ahead. Each issue provides a unique backward-glancing recap and
forward-looking perspective on trading, companies and the economy, and arms self-reliant
readers to anticipate market events rather than be overtaken by them. Please see a member of the library staff for access.
- FirstSearch: An online reference system containing 86
databases covering a wide range of subject areas including business, medicine, life
science, social science, etc. Over 1.5 million articles are available online. Databases
include ERIC, PAIS, PsycFIRST, WilsonSelectPlus, WorldCat, and many others. See the librarian for searches.
- What Do I Read Next?
What Do I Read Next? includes over 134,300 recommended titles, more than 74,500 plot
summaries, and awards information from 568 awards, all to help users uncover new reading
adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles. Search by
genre, subject, author, title, series, and more. A monthly highlights page allows the user
to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around
different subjects each month.
- Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten
through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the
most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the
subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is
from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography,
current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Student Resource Center-Bronze
Student Resource Center - Bronze offers easy access to award-winning content based on
national curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history,
literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Bronze provides a premium selection
of reference material, more than 680 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary
sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to
the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an integrated national and state
curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards, and popular topic
picklists.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Present
One-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed
series published by Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale imprints, OVRC features
viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper
articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to
Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated
national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards. .
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary
research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you
can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its
own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different
libraries (your school, your public library, or your office)
Please see a member of the library staff for access. Authorization Code is required.
- Janes.com Research for ACC-Holloman AFB Provides
fulltext access to a large number of Jane's sources. Includes Jane's Defense Equipment
Library, Jane's Defense Magazine Library, Jane's Geopolitical Library, Jane's Market
Intelligence Library, and several image libraries. Please see a
member of the library staff for access.
NewsBank: Includes five databases:
- AccessNews
Provides fulltext news articles from the U.S. and Canada. Draws from regional and national
newspapers, wire services, and selected magazines. Covers most major news subjects.
- Global NewsBank
Provides fulltext news articles from around the world. Draws from translated broadcasts,
news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, magazines, and government documents.
- Military Periodicals
Provides a unique database comprised of 22 military magazines.
- Armed Services and Government News
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S.
newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of
local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural
activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
- America's News Magazines
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and
science and technology from familiar magazines.
Please see a member of the library staff for access.
- Practice Test: Here are some sites that provide practice tests
for free:
- ProQuest: Provides online access to over
400 U.S. and international newspapers from around the world in
full-color, full-page format. PressDisplay offers users the most convenient way to read
current edition newspapers from around the world. Users get access to a wide-range of
current newspapers from Europe, South America, Asia, the Middle East, the U.S., and more.
Please see a member of the library staff for access.
- Petersons Academic Test Preparation
Peterson's and the U.S. Air Force Library Program are proud to introduce your launching
point to education and career success. You have FREE access to comprehensive content to
DANTES Subjects Standardized Tests (DSST) practice tests, College Level Examination
Program (CLEP) practice tests, and Educational Databases.
- Reference USA: Provides basic information on U.S. residents and U.S. and Canadian
businesses. Includes phone numbers and addresses as well as business information such as
sales estimates, ticker symbols, SIC codes, and company affiliations. This product is available only within the library.
- Rosetta
Stone: LIMITED RESOURCE "This
resource is for active duty only to meet their mission requirements."
The Rosetta Stone offers online solutions for every use; beginner to advanced. This
revolutionary online language-learning software has been acclaimed for its speed, power
and effectiveness. Languages covered are Arabic, Chinese, Danish, Dutch, English, French,
German, Hindi, Hebrew, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Polish, Portuguese,
Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Vietnamese, and Welsh. Please see your Librarian for access. Internal
Affairs Specialist's AF Portal link.
- SIRS Discoverer Deluxe: An interactive
reference tool designed for the young researcher. Includes fulltext articles, an
encyclopedia, and the World Almanac for Kids.
- SIRS Knowledge Source: Includes three databases:
- SIRS Researcher: A general reference database. Provides fulltext articles on a wide
range of topics drawn from magazines and the World Almanac.
- SIRS Renaissance: Devoted to the arts and humanities. Includes fulltext articles, an
awards recipient database, a lifetime readings list, and a glossary of the arts. Many
articles are accompanied by images.
- SIRS Government Reporter: Devoted to information on the U.S. government. Includes
historic government documents, Supreme Court decisions, and basic facts on federal
agencies and elected leaders.
http://10.5.4.250/footer.htm
This is a
Department of Defense computer system. This computer system, including all related
equipment, networks and network devices (specifically including Internet access), are
provided only for authorized U.S. Government use. DoD computer systems may be monitored
for all lawful purposes, including to ensure that their use is authorized, for management
of the system, to facilitate protection against unauthorized access, and to verify
security procedures, survivability, and operational security. Monitoring includes active
attacks by authorized DoD entities to test or verify the security of this system. During
monitoring, information may be examined, recorded, copied, and used for authorized
purposes. All information, including personal information, placed on or sent over this
system may be monitored. Use of this DoD computer system, authorized or unauthorized,
constitutes consent to monitoring of this system. Unauthorized use may subject you to
criminal prosecution. Evidence of unauthorized use collected during monitoring may be used
for administrative, criminal, or other adverse action. Use of this system constitutes
consent to monitoring for these purposes.
©2003 Holloman AFB
Library. Operated by Alpha Services Las Vagas, NV.
Questions or comments regarding this web site should be directed to the
Ahrens Memorial Library System Administrator steven.lavallee@holloman.af.mil.